RSS Feed

Burt’s Bee Natural Acne Solutions

Posted on

I have started using Burt’s Bees Natural Acne Solutions. It has actually been a month today. And so far I love it!

Basically the 3 Step Regimen Kit comes with three products: Purifying Gel Cleanser, Daily Moisturizing Lotion, and Targeted Spot Treatment. I tend to have oily skin so I also bought the Clarifying Toner.

So here is the rundown:

Cleanser – 99.4% NATURAL

Toner – 99.5% NATURAL

Lotion – 100% NATURAL

Spot Treatment – 100% NATURAL

Those numbers look pretty good to me, especially since I am moving towards natural beauty products. The good news about these products is that the Salicylic Acid is derived naturally from Willow Bark Extract. Also Burt’s Bees never use any Sulfates, Parabens, Phthalates, or Petrochemicals.

That all sounds good but what exactly are they and why are they bad?

Sulfates are salts and when used on hair and skin they pull away the natural oils that we produce. Now there are some debates about whether or not they are really bad, but if they have not been proved helpful I see not need why they need to be in our beauty products.

Parabens synthetic preservatives that allow your products to stay good for months or even years. The bad news? They enter your skin when you use products that contain them and they can actually mimic hormones. Enough said…

Phthalates are mainly used to increase the flexibility of plastic. Studies has shown relation between Phthalates and liver, kidney, and lung damage. Now this is still being researched so they may be jumping to conclusions but would you take that risk?

Petrochemicals are chemical products derived from petroleum. Now I couldn’t find much on theses guys. But I am assuming the word chemical means it is not natural!

I must say that these products have left my skin feeling and looking great. I have been having less breakouts and when I do breakout they aren’t nearly as bad as before.

What is your take on Natural Beauty Products? Do you use them? Do you think they are just a fad?

Lindsey

Leave a Comment

